Sugar Cookie Love: Listening to Devo and Baking

Maybe it’s because I wish it was winter right now or at least 95 degrees instead of 100 degrees, but I got a craving for sugar cookies last night and made up enough dough to bake a fresh batch to share with my friends and co-workers.

I have also now decided that this classic recipe makes for a good “breakfast cookie.” I figure if other people (including myself really) can eat muffins and doughnuts for breakfast once in awhile why not have a cookie, it’s a great start to your workday in my opinion. Plus whenever I’m baking I get Devo stuck in my head which isin’t a bad thing either.

I based it off of this Classic Sugar Cookie recipe.

ingredients

A.) 1 cup butter, softened
B.) 2 cups sugar
C.) 1 teaspoon baking soda
D.) 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
E.) 1/8 teaspoon salt
F.) 2 eggs
G.) 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
H.) 2 cups all-purpose flour
I.) A little bowl of sugar

directions

1. WHIP IT GOOD: Bring the butter to room temperature. I usually hold the stick of butter (with wax paper on) in between my hands for a little bit, then cut it into cubes and throw it in the mixer. Then I add the sugar and let them beat together for about a minute. I stop the mixer and take ingredients C-G and add them to the mixer. I turn it back on until those are blended together and then I add the flour slowly a 1/2 cup at a time while the mixer is still cooking.

2. DO NOTHING: Then I cover the bowl and put it in the fridge for at least 2 hours, or if you are like me and for some reason feel the urge to bake at 10pm go to bed and move on to step 3 when you wake up.

3. SHAPE IT UP: Heat oven to 375 degrees F. Shape dough into 1 inch-ish sized balls. Dip the balls into ingredient “I.) A little bowl of sugar” (I wrote this out because I was worried someone might get confused and try to dip there dough balls into there eye, so don’t do that) Place balls 2 inches apart on greased cookie sheets.

4. GO FORWARD/MOVE AHEAD: Bake in the preheated oven for 9 to 12 minutes or until there done as much as you’d like them to be done. Cool cookies for 1 minute on cookie sheet. Transfer cookies to somewhere they look cuteand then serve them to people you like.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “Sugar Cookie Love: Listening to Devo and Baking

  1. Mmmm, Devo and sugar cookies – two great tastes that go great together!Thanks a lot for using our timer for cooking, we appreciate it!Especially coming from a post where Devo has been prominently mentioned…this is very cool for us (we are big old-time New Wavers).Yours,WebmasterOnline Clock

Leave a comment